Floodplain Management Resources

BW-12 Information

Ward's Flood Model

Networking Links

FlashFlood Newsletter

Education & Outreach

Future Leaders Scholorship


North Carolina Association of Floodplain Managers

Berry Williams Scholarship 2024

North Carolina Association of Floodplain Managers (NCAFPM) is pleased to announce the scholarship program for 2023. NCAFPM (http://www.ncafpm.org/) is a non-profit organization established in 1989 consisting of engineers, planners, geographers, land surveyors, zoning officials, emergency management coordinators, community officials, and private sector individuals. NCAFPM is dedicated to promoting public awareness of proper floodplain management, promoting professional development, enhancing information exchange, education and outreach, improving floodplain mapping, and reviewing and commenting on pertinent legislation such as the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The scholarship is named in honor of Mr. Berry Williams, CFM for his years of service as the State of North Carolina NFIP coordinator and assisting with the establishment and growth of NCAFPM.
The scholarship program will consist of two awards, one of $2,500 and one of $1,500, and is open to undergraduate students:

  • Minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale
  • Be a current full-time student enrolled in a two- or four-year degree program at a college or university within the State of North Carolina, and within a program related to the disciplines of floodplain management (water resources, engineering, planning and zoning, resiliency, coastal management, environmental sciences, hazard mitigation, emergency management, geography/GIS, surveying, etc.)

NCAFPM strongly encourages application submissions by students enrolled at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) or Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs) within a baccalaureate degree program, as well as by students enrolled at a technical community college within an associate degree program.
The scholarship application materials can be found on the NCAFPM website at the link:
Deadline to submit the application materials is February 15, 2024.

NCAFPM Scholarship Application
NCAFPM Scholarship Reference Letter

Past NCAFPM Berry Williams Scholarship Winners

Emma Rudy Srebnik
Samantha Kershner
Sarah Landers

Sandra Geiselhart
Vega Sproul
Maggie Sanders

Olivia Sessoms
Drew Davey

Laney Rivera
Princess Mutasa
Scott Finnis

Savannah Newbern
Samuel Blackman